Perfect Plant Combination

white-crocus-and-snowdrops-best-e1425921220537

Just like Veronica at Through the Garden Gate, I’ve been peering into other people’s front gardens (this one in Maida Vale). Although I’m usually more partial to a blaze of colour: masses of daffodils or riotous tulips, I saw this arresting virginal combination of snowdrops and white crocuses the other day and it really moved me. I love this simple but heavenly effect and plan on borrowing the idea for next spring in my own small patch.

galanthus-s-arnott-e1425976911236

And I don’t think these are just any old snowdrops (Galanthus nivalis) either. Possibly Galanthus S. Arnott (please correct me if you know better!), a gorgeous, gently-scented taller variety which looks so great planted alongside these bold snowy blooms.

white-crocus-and-snowdrops-3-e1425921317135

Again, I’m not sure which variety this Crocus is, but Peter Nyssen have a large white Crocus ‘Jeanne D’Arc’ (15cm tall) which is now on my wish list for ordering later in the year.

crocus-in-pots-e1425975757614

These mega Crocuses also looked rather charming as underplanting in pots of Hydrangeas and I shall be keeping an eye open (and camera at the ready) for how these borders and pots progress.

Leave a comment